Useful Links

Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Centre For Biomedical Research

Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Center for Biomedical Research (ACBR) came into existence in March 1991 with the foundation stone laid by the then Hon'ble Prime Minister of India Sh. Chandra Shekharji, on the occasion of the birth centenary of Baba Saheb Dr. B.R. Ambedkar. The Government of India established this Institute at the University of Delhi. The mandate of the Centre is high quality postgraduate education and research in Biomedical Sciences. The Institute also has provision for doctoral and postdoctoral training to young scientists at the start of their research career to gain the skills and insights in frontier areas of biomedical sciences. During the last two decades the center has grown to have strength of 220 comprising faculties, students, Ph.D scholars and supporting staff.

In the year 1992, the University finalized the Ordinance relating to the ACBR, which was duly approved by the Hon'ble Visitor, the President of India in 1997, when ACBR expanded and formalized its educational role by becoming a University Maintained Institute for Graduate and Post Graduate teaching and research for pursuing M.Sc. and M.Sc. - Ph.D. combined degree courses in Biomedical Sciences. The first batch of M.Sc - Ph.D and M.Sc. candidates was admitted in 1998, though the research activities of ACBR have been continuing since 1991 in a historical laboratory in the Department of Chemistry, where the CSIR and ICMR were born.

ACBR presents a unique amalgamation of basic and applied research in the field of human health and disease, which is first of its kind in the Indian University System. The innovative and creative vision of the Ex-Vice-Chancellor, Prof.Gurbakhsh Singh, Dr. Ramesh Chandra and other Professors at the Chemistry Department and eminent scientists and faculties of Delhi University and generous financial support from Planning Commission, Government of India, University of Delhi, UGC, DST, DBT, CSIR, UNESCO, Polariod Corporation, USA and other agencies helped in the establishment and extension of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Center for Biomedical Research.

The Institute's first Governing Body was formed in 1996, and an outstanding scholar, a great institution builder and administrator, Padma Bhushan, Late Prof. Gurbakhsh Singh became the first chairperson. At present the Pro-Vice Chancellor of Delhi University is the Chairman of the Governing Body. Under the able guidance of eminent scientists and visionaries, the Center continues to make excellent progress in both teaching and research in biomedical sciences.

List of Selected candidates for the Summer Undergraduate Research Programme (SURP - 2017)

Summer Undergraduate Research Programme (SURP)-2016
College Address University of Delhi
College Phone 27667151, 27666259


Brahmachari, Prof. Vani +91-11-27666272;
Das, Prof. Bhudev 27662888
Natarajan, Prof. Krishanamurthy    
Saluja, Prof. Daman +91-11-27666272, 27667151,

Associate Professors

Luthra, Dr. Pratibha Mehta 27662778

Assistant Professors

Chopra, Dr. Madhu 91-11-27666272, 27667151,
Chopra, Dr. Madhu 91-11-27666272, 27667151,
Katyal, Dr. Anju 011-27666272 ext242
Singh, Dr. Laishram Rajendrakumar 011-27666272, 27667151
Tiwari, Dr. Manisha +91-11-27666272
Yadav, Dr. Ajay 011-28012414
Yadav, Dr. Manisha 91-011-27666272, 27667151 (Ext. 241),