University of Delhi



The University of Delhi is a premier university of the Country and is known for its high  standards in teaching and research. It  was  established in  1922 as a unitary, teaching and residential  university by an act of the Central Legislative Assembly.  Ever since its inception, a strong commitment to excellence in teaching and research has made the University of Delhi a role-model and path-setter for other universities in the Country. Its rich academic tradition has always attracted the most talented students who later on made important contributions to the society.

The University had a modest beginning with just three colleges (St. Stephen’s  College founded in 1881, Hindu College founded in 1899 and Ramjas College founded in 1917), two faculties (Arts and Science) and about 750 students. In October 1933, the University   offices and the Library shifted to the Viceregal Lodge Estate, and till today this site houses the offices of the main functionaries of the University. The University has grown into one of the largest universities in India. At present, there are 16 faculties, 86 academic departments, 77  Colleges  and 5  other  recognised   Institutes  spread all over the city with 132435 regular  students   (UG: 114494,PG:17941) and 261169 students (UG:258831,PG:2338) in non-formal education programme.

University of Delhi offers under-graduate, post-graduate, M.Phil. and Ph.D. programmes. Under-graduate teaching is done in the Colleges of the University whereas Post-graduate teaching is the responsibility of the Departments of the University. University also offers Short-term/Diploma/Certificate courses in its Colleges and Departments.